Some of our brides have brought to our attention that there are couples out there that have no clue how to get, where to get or when to get their marriage license. This is a re-post of one of our blogs that will help if you plan on getting a marriage license in the Sweetheart City of in Loveland, Colorado.
Marriage licenses in Colorado are available at various locations. The $30.00 fee MUST BE PAID IN CASH, and is valid for 30 days. Both parties need to be present and must sign at the time of filing for a marriage license, and must present valid ID and proof of age.
If either party is divorced, the county will require the date and place of the divorce. The divorce MUST BE FINAL. Widows or widowers need to supply the date and place of death of their former spouse.
The legal age without parental consent is 18 for both persons. For marriages of age 16-17, consent of BOTH parents or parent having legal custody (or guardian or judicial approval) are required.
Blood tests are not required in the state of Colorado.
The marriage license must be used within 30 days of the date of issue, and used only in the State of Colorado. License must be recorded within 60 days of marriage date or a fine will be imposed when recorded. The statute DOES NOT allow a friend or relative to solemnize the marriage unless they are either a judge or clergy.
It is best to obtain a copy of your marriage license (or your marriage license application,) to carry with you as proof of marriage for changing your name on your State ID, Driver’s License, vehicle registration, insurance documents, and Social Security card. It is best to get your driver’s license updated first, as many offices will require documentation and a state ID with your new name before processing a change request.
Thanks My Loveland Wedding and Events for making this information available.